Crochet - The Bottom Line

I have been thinking about pattern reading (and writing). In a recent doll pattern I included the words "Not a beginner pattern" because it had stuff like FPdc, hdc and sc joining and such. I think some beginners could probably make the outfit but to avoid accusations I put in the disclaimer.

I would like to hear what people consider the most basic things you have to know - either by name or by doing - to really be a crocheter in the beginners circle.

For those who are beginners, what do you consider a "Beginner's Pattern?

For our international audience, I know the terms may vary but the crochet doesn't so feel free to write in your own language but it might help to say from where you are speaking.

So again, how basic is basic and what is a simple pattern?

I have been crocheting for well over 50 years and I am still learning ways to do things and new stitches and ideas so I don't think you ever get to the "know it all" stage :rofl

well i have been crocheting for about 6 years now and i still don't know how to to do a fp dc! to me a beginner i thing would be your basic sc, dc, sl st kinda thing. thats just me though. i think i am a little beyond beginner but not exactly advanced i think everyone has there favorite stitches. sorry i am not much help!

well i have been crocheting for about 6 years now and i still don't know how to to do a fp dc! to me a beginner i thing would be your basic sc, dc, sl st kinda thing. thats just me though. i think i am a little beyond beginner but not exactly advanced i think everyone has there favorite stitches. sorry i am not much help!

You have been a help. Thank you.

I want to hear what people think about this and every opinion is valid because it is from your experience.

I think of a beginner as doing things like rows only (back and forth) with sc's, half dc's and dc's...minor color changes...(like main color, with contrast in rows or for a simple edging of sc's...)