To roll or not to roll.

O.K. I know I'm 'new' but after reading quite a few posts here, I want to know.. Do you roll your yarn into a ball off of the skein, or just work straight from the skein? Apparently, A lot of people think it is silly to ball your yarn since most yarns are 'pull skeins'. Now, when I started practicing and doing swatches, I was working from the skein, and I hated it! So now I ball everything. It fits better in my tote, I can tell if there are knots or breaks halfway through before I get started, When I frog, which is often, I can just roll it back up and it still looks pretty sitting in my tote, and last but but least, we've all had that one stubborn 'pull skein' that about three foot in ended up in a huge rats nest!!! Anyway, I guess I'm just curious to see if I am the oddball, lol.

• Replies 86
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Generally, I just work from the skeins and deal with tangles as they happen...that being said, I am currently working on a couple of chart patterns, which is a new expierence for me, and using yarn bobbins (think little balls of yarn LOL) and really enjoying how easy it is to move the pieces around....so I can see it from both sides LOL!!

Jessie

At the moment I use the pull skeins as they come, but only because I don't have a ball winder - yet! It's on my wish list. I can't wind them by hand because my hand that I hold the ball with will cramp up.

If the yarn comes in a hank I will wind it.

I use the yarn straight from the skein unless it's wound in a hank....then I use my winder. If I have only used about half the skein for a project, I will wind it into a cake then, just because I don't like those "floppy" half skeins, they always get tangled!

Sometimes I ball, but most of the time I just use it from the skein. It's all in personal preference. I'd rather have it in a ball, but I don't have a yarn winder.