Do you always use the yarn a pattern calls for?

Do you use the yarn a pattern calls for?  

152 members have voted

1. 1. Do you use the yarn a pattern calls for?

• Never
    • Always
    • Rarely
    • Other

I was just following a pattern, but I am not using the yarn the pattern calls for, and got to wondering how many of you actually use the yarn a pattern calls for. I almost never use the yarn a pattern calls for. I use whatever I have.

How about you?

I'm just learning so right now I'm using whatever I can afford. There are so many beautiful yarns, though, and I'm looking forward to using them.

depends on lots of factors. If i like the colors and the yarn it calls for then I do. Also depends on my mood/wallet. lol

I live in Australia, but mostly use patterns from the US or UK (due to availability) so I almost always have to substitute because the yarn called for is just not available...

very rarely, I often use US patterns and we don't have the same yarns over here

ditto

I choose "other" because I will use the yarn if I have access to it or if it isn't too expensive. But I usually substitute something in the same weight class if it is too pricey or hard to get.

It depends. A lot of the books I have list some kind of funky yarn I've never heard of and don't know where to get! I will use the exact yarn if it's easily available and if I'm not pulling from my stash for the project. . . but how often does that happen? :think

I chose "other" since "sometimes" wasn't an option. It depends on the availability and price of the suggested yarn and whether it is made of an animal fiber (allergies rather than convictions determine that for me). Sometimes I just want to see if I'm going to like a pattern before I spend money on good yarn.

It all depends...sometimes I do, but a lot of the time I like to check my stash to see if there's something there I can use. Either that, or I want to use one of my favorite yarns instead.