useless project :(

Just wanted to vent a minute. I am pretty new to crochet and found this really simple pattern to make a bag to hang up to put your plastic grocery bags in for storage. It has a hole in the bottom to pull them out from. It is cute and simple.

So I am sitting on the couch happily crocheting away totally pleased that I am actually following a pattern without difficulties. My boyfriend asks me what I am making. I told him and then showed him the picture. He laughs!!!

Says we'll see if it works!!! Now he wasn't reflecting on my skills, which he knows are limited right now, but on whether the bag would actually WORK. He says it won't because there is nothing to pull the next plastic bag out of the bottom since the bags are not hooked together. He says how is it going to work do you have to reach inside to pull it out? and laughs some more.

Well, to be perfectly honest, he is right. Other then storing them in it, it really won't pull another bag out of the bottom like it is suppose to. But I hadn't thought of that. It just looked cool and easy and I was so enjoying making it!!!! Now it just doesn't seem as fun. I am making something useless an stupid.

He is usually very supportive. His reaction surprised me. I made a simple clutch purse and he was proud of that. I guess it is functional though, this project isn't.

I'm not sure what the pattern you are talking about looks like; but even if it is just a place to store the bags, I still think that is a good idea. I mean where do you keep them now right? I'm sure the storage container you are making is much prettier and more practical than just stuffing them in the bottom of a cabinet (what I used to do with mine!) And besides, you're improving your crocheting skills and that's always a good thing!!