Have you taught someone else to crochet?

We all learned from someone. A neighbour taught me basic stitches when I was a kid but I did not start crocheting until some 40 years later.

I have not had the opportunity to teach someone else, yet.

Have you?:)

• Replies 120
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm actually self-taught, so I didn't learn from anyone... but I do teach.

I teach crochet at my local Jo-Ann's. I was also teaching at continuing ed for a while, but they've added a bunch of new Jo-Ann classes (non-crochet) that I am also teaching, so I'm going to just concentrate on the store. :)

I don't recall how many people I have taught... quite a few. Hopefully, they've stuck with it! :D

I'm teaching my daughter and I showed my boyfriend a thing or two. I'm giving my ex-husband's daughter a how-to book for her birthday with hooks and yarn so my daughter can help her over the summer while they're staying with their dad.

I've actually taught 2 friends to yarn crochet. They went crazy making ponchos over the winter! Now they are addicted as well. I'm also teaching my 12 yr old right now. We are making squares for an afghan for her new room together. And WOW we are almost finished. I have another friend that got interested and I sent her home with a roll of yarn and a H hook Monday. LOL. Hopefully we will get together again next week and start on single and double crochet stitches. I really enjoy teaching. It makes me even more addicted, i think!:cheer

I tried to teach a friend of mine to crochet, but after she learned to chain she didn't want to learn anything else. She would just sit and make chains for hours on end. Then she discovered plastic canvas, and I don't think she's ever tried crocheting again.

I'm going to teach both of my daughters one day. Right now my youngest is too young, and my oldest doesn't want to do anything that she couldn't get on the first try. Hopefully she'll get over that one of these days!:bang