How many of you knit as well as crochet?

boo1

• Replies 156
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I recently taught myself how to knit and like it quite a bit. It isn't that bad once you practice. Just like anything that your learning it takes time to build up speed. My favorite is still crochet, but knitting is a nice change of pace once in a while.

i sorta try to knit. i can manage, just. crochet i can d whatever i please when it suits me. so to say i am a knitter is a bit far fetched, but i am a beginner i guess. where as crochet i'd be more inclined to say intermediate or something

I've been trying to work up the courage to have another go at it, but I'm awfully happy with crochet. I'm sure I'll give in and learn eventually, though. :lol

I think i am equally proficient in both. Crochet is quicker and chunkier; knitting takes longer but is a finer, thinner product. Lately I am doing a bit of knitting. I didn't enjoy the process at first; but loved the finished products. Also, as I improved, I picked up speed. I don't do anything intricate, but I can make doll garments and people shrugs and blankets in knit. Keep at it and see if it is for you.

I enjoy both but arthritis in my right shoulder from an old injury makes knitting more difficult. That extra motion of wrapping the yarn around the knitting needle takes a lot more shoulder movement. I probably have more knitting needles than crochet hooks, more knitting pattern books but about equal WIP's.

My mom taught me how to knit when I was just a little kid. When I was a teenager, I learned to crochet and taught my mom. I can knit, and sometimes do for things like shawls, but I don't particularly enjoy it. It takes way too long and I hate weaving in ends. I much prefer crocheting. :)

I do both. But I mainly knit to make socks. I love knitting socks. I may knit a garment every now and then if it's something that just can't be duplicated in crochet.