So sad to see.......

I hate seeing them at thrift stores. I'll see a bunch of them hanging. And some are still pretty decent. Some are old 1970s colors, but some are really pretty. I hope the person who gave them away loved them and wanted to just share them with someone else and maybe was doing the flylady thing we're talking about...

Or maybe, someone crocheted them and hoped they would go to a good home.

Years ago I was out yard saleing in Spokane Wa. We found this sale and there was an older woman. Her kids were selling off the brand new afghans she made to keep her hands busy for the cost of the yarn. $25 for a large afghan, $15 for a baby. These were not a simple dc or anything like that. The large ones were made of white squares with pink or red roses in the middle. The baby ones were large enough for a toddler or small child to use, and I think they were a box stitch or a ripple. I have been kicking myself for 7-8 years for not getting several but at the time I just didn't have the money. They were beautiful work. There were big piles of afghans....

They were also selling off the silver jewelry from a silver shop she had run with her husband when she was younger. I got my favorite silver necklace for $2. It was truely sad to watch what had to amount to large portions of her life being essentially given away.

I don't get why it's sad if they're being sold (yard sale or thrift store). Maybe something happened that makes it too hard to keep them. Maybe they just need the money. Maybe they have far too many (yes you can have too many). You just never know what sparks someone into selling. It's better to think positive about it. Better there than the trash. ;)