People are rude.

My sister was a crocheter and she made a scarf for me and I used it today. She made this scarf awhile ago. I make alot of my own stuff as you gals here know. Well anyway my co worker so the scarf and says " why don't you give up making those useless things and you're not good at it anyways it has a hole" I could care less about a hole I wanted to stay warm! My best friend who is also a crocheter and beginner like me said.. next time say " it's supposed to be like that I'm an artist"

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Bravo! Good for you--wearing the scarf your sister made with love, even if it is less than "perfect." You'll be a good mom, and put the dandelions on the table in a vase, and tape up the coloring-book scribbles, and clap at school plays and piano recitals. You can go through life encouraging and affirming the people around you, or you can go through life belittling and discouraging everyone you meet. I'll give you one guess as to who is going to be happier when they are 60 or 70 years old?

That co worker sounds jealous to me.

Besides, everyone's got to start somewhere, practice makes perfect!

I agree. It's hard not to get offended when people say rude things. But we all have to let things go like that. Just consider the source of the rudeness and let it go.

:manyheart

Not everyone is jealous. I don't get why that's a pat answer. Sometimes people are just mean. Period. This co-worker was mean and rude.

If it was me, I would have asked her why does she care, what's it to her.

If you love it, that's all that matters. :hug

You're right. Some people only feel right about themselves if they're dragging someone else down. Pity. Life's too short/long... and too full of better things to do. What do I know though, I've been known to wear the clunky plastic bracelets or handbraided DMC floss anklets the kids have made just for me...:manyheart