Is This An Expensive Hobby?

As per my intro I am brand spanking new. I just cracked open my book and yarn and I think I've got the single crochet stitch down. Now to the double...:cheer

Anyhow I was wondering if you find crocheting to be an expensive hobby. Of course I know "it depends" could be thrown back at me as an answer, but I'm interested in your experience.

I have no idea what number I consider to be expensive, but what's it been like for you?

• Replies 71
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hello..I'm relatively new to crocheting as well..I find yarn at second hand stores for really inexpensive and yard sales..My husband and mom even find yarn and hooks and patterns for me too..I do buy my yarn at Wal Mart as well. When I have an extra 5.00-10.00 I'll get something. Makes me feel good..Hope this helps. I like to Quilt..Now THAT'S expensive..lol...

Welcome from Colorado!

Crocheting can be as expensive or as INexpensive as you want. Unfortunately most of us tend to go overboard and buy pattern after pattern after pattern and enough yarn to last a lifetime!

If you buy just what you need for a particular pattern, your expenses should be:

crochet hook(s)

pattern(s)

yarn

The yarn is what gets expensive of course. You can buy Red Heart acrylic for $3 a skein, which is at the low end or you can spend $30 or more for the same amount of yarn but is top quality.

Always look for coupons for Hobby Lobby, Michaels or Joann's. That'll save a bundle in the long run. But always buy more than enough yarn for your project. It's a nightmare if you run out of yarn and try to match the color again. It'll end up costing twice as much.

You can make a baby outfit for under $10 if you want. Or you could make that same outfit for $50 or more. It all depends on how deeply you get hooked on crocheting!