Do I have to share?

A lady in my crochet group asked me for my pattern for my crochet bonnets that I make. I don't have a pattern written down because it's in my head. I've been making this pattern I designed myself for a few years now and I haven't written it down. I make them for hospitals and other places.

I told her instead that I would just make her one. Is that a good way to handle the situation? I don't mind making one for her great niece, but I really don't want to publish it yet.

Is that fair?

:manyheart

Yes, I think it is. It's the same as KFC not sharing it's secret recipe for its chicken with seven herbs and spices. But KFC is willing to produce its end result. In fact, yours is even more fair. You're giving away the bonnet, but KFC is selling the chicken.

Yes, I think it is. It's the same as KFC not sharing it's secret recipe for its chicken with seven herbs and spices. But KFC is willing to produce its end result. In fact, yours is even more fair. You're giving away the bonnet, but KFC is selling the chicken.

FYI....the "secret" ingredients in KFC Chicken is MSG!! So, if you are senstive to MSG or you are a migraine sufferer like I am....don't eat Kentucky Fried Chicken!!! :eek But sharing crochet patterns are not hazardess to your health! :manyheart

You don't have to share, but do please write it down and store it somewhere safe. You never know what might happen to a person and it would be a shame for that pattern to not be passed down to family. We're still trying to figure out what my grandmother's secret recipe for her cake frosting. She never wrote it down.:P

Colleen

I agree. Do write it down and make sure someone can continue making beautiful bonnets. I have patterns in my head and I've been debating whether or not to write them down. I will.