Following patterns?

I'm sure this has been discussed before. But how many of you follow a pattern exactly ...colors, yarn types, exact size and stitches?

I'm still new to the craft, but I've found I have a tendency to find a pattern I like, then figure out what I can use and how I can change it so that I REALLY like it.

From the few things I've done from a pattern, I haven't followed a single one exactly.

My latest example is that I turned a one-color granny square, into a two-color square, then added an extra border around it.

For me, it depends on the pattern. I rarely use the colors they specify; instead, I choose one that suits me. But I often follow the directions themselves, making minor changes as I need or want to. I change the yarn around a bit on some of them, too. If gauge isn't an issue, I don't check it, so sometimes I may end up with something slightly smaller (since I crochet tighter) than the object in the pattern is--other than that, I don't change the size much. Guess, like I said, it just depends...

I never follow a pattern exactly either! At the very least, I tend to change the color to something I'd like better. Either that, or I change the type of yarn--I'm trying to go with more wool and other natural fibers these days. Also, most patterns for tops are way too short for me, so I lengthen them. I also tend to shorten the sleeves as I have shorter arms than the norm (why, I don't know).

I don't think it's a bad thing...if nothing else, we pattern-alterers are probably all warming up for the day we can eventually write a pattern ourselves.

I try to follow the pattern directly in the same weight yarn, not the same colors. I always have to make adjustments to the pattern! I am not sure if it is because I read them wrong, or there are mistakes in the pattern. Its very frustrating!