A Confession!

I've got a confession. I've been crocheting for about 5 years. I taught myself. I have used books from the library as well as the internet. I don't know if maybe I've found a wrong source or what, but I just realized that I've been doing DC's WRONG!!!! :eek I've been going through the loop, yarn ch one, YO, pull through. I don't know what made me look up DC's last night online. But I realized that I had been doing them wrong, when I got this cool book from the library and was looking at the 'pattern' from the DC'ed hat to make. I was like,..."Hm....mine don't look like that." But it doens't look bad, and it seems to be the same "guage?" or distance away as a REAL DC.

Anyone else do this? LOL:think And of course now, learning the 'new' dc is a bit different, because of the way I've been doing it for 5 years. Hey, DS loves his blankie no matter how I made it right?????

Ok, so is there a name for how I've been doing it, or is that a new stitch that I just made up?

I'm having a hard time picturing the stitch you are describing, but I also realized a few months ago that I've been doing ALL my crocheting wrong. I was going through the front loops only and though I realize that is a desirable technique sometimes, it isn't all the time! I wondered why my stuff was always so stretchy and not as sturdy, and I thought the line across my rows was normal. :) "Real" crocheting (under both top loops) took me a while to get used to, the look and feel. Now I wonder how I could ever have done anything differently. :D

What you described is a hdc (half double crochet) stitch. It is a very common and popular stitch. I use it alot in afghans, scarves, and hats.

oh wait nvm I see you put a ch 1 in there too lol -- nope I never have used the stitch you described. I dunno if it is stitch or not. But it does seem like it would have the same gauge as a dc with the ch 1 in it.