Handwashing...

Am I the only one who washes her/his hands before I crochet? I realize out skin oil gets on our projects no matter what, but I was taught it was a good idea to do so. Could just be I'm a little OCD! :D

:cheerHooray for OCD. I wash my hands too. The oils are not the only thiings on our hands. . . I used to work as a unit secretary in a hospital and got in the habit of keeping my hands clean. fifteen years later the habit lives on.

:clap

Count me in too! I wash before and after and sometimes in between! I've just stopped crocheting for the night and now it is time for LOTION! My hands are very dry and I hate when the rough skin keeps catching on the yarn!

It depends on what I'm crocheting. If it's something I'm going to sell I always do, especially since I smoke (not in the apartment) and I don't want to cause allergies and such.

When it comes to other things I always wash the finished items anyway, so I don't really think about washing my hands.

Usually I crochet after dinner and I do the dishes so I guess that counts as washing your hands before I crochet. I am always washing my hands anyway and I put lotion on my hands now cause they are so dry. I always wash my project before I give them away.

I always wash my hands, so my hands usually feel quite dry (that is, the skin) before I start. I don't like having oily skin before I touch the wool and if my hands smell of whatever food I have been preparing, I'll scrub till they're spotless and odourfree! I don't wash the project before I give it away, but I am quite paranoid about not letting the wool fall on the floor, making sure my hair is well out of it, etc.

I don't like the idea of crocheting near animals or letting cats/dogs sleep on my work while I'm crocheting (unless it is destined for my own use.) I know everyone thinks their own pet is spotless, but I would not use a blanket a cat or dog has slept on :(