spalted maple hook case

BrianC

HI everybody,

This is the latest of my work. It is made of spalted maple and the ends are kalimantan palm nut. It is my first time working with this kind of nut so things are not quite what I would prefer but not bad.

spaltedcase.jpg[/img]

Wait... Did you hear that?

It said it wanted to come live with me! I heard it! Didn't you?

really is gorgeous

I do get to see it tonight don't I ? :)

I am so lucky everyone, as I at least get to see all of his creations before they head for their new homes. :D At least I had better or I will give him the lesson from you know where.:devil

It's lovely Brian, Not a nice as mine, but Lovely. :hook

I will bring it tonight Kathy so you can see it. This case has been claimed so it is no longer homeless. Thanks for all the kind words.

I am trying to find some more of the spalted maple. Think I have found some of that and some spalted birch. There are some others that look intersting too.

Brian

Oh Brian it is so beautiful! I love the wood - is spalted similar to burled?... :think

...question, if I have some nice wood, could you make a case out of it? or even a question for Jimbo too I guess, could a hook be made out of it... It's Black Oregon Walnut and it is gorgeous (and $$)! I bought some in college for a furniture studio (made some nice side tables) and have some extra that's just lying around in my dad's shop...and the thought just occured to me... anyways, enough rambling.

Again, it is stunning, and if you have any other homeless creations, I'm sure I can make room for them at my place :D

~K

Hi Kelle,