Does hook Brand really matter?

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Absolutely!

Boye and Bates have completely different shaped heads. Boye has a big fat hook and Bates is an 'inline' (same size as the shaft). It's just a matter of personal preference.

When I started learning I couldn't use a Bates to save my life. After a few years of crocheting I tried it again and I never want to go back!

When I start teaching DD's friends to crochet I always give them a Boye - it's just easier for them to use.

To me, it's mostly about materials and the shape of the point and throat. For instance, Boye hooks tend to be rougher aluminum than the Bates hooks. In addition, the point is very rounded, while I prefer the sharper point of the Bates hook to ease insertion into stitches. And the throat on the Boye hooks is much shallower than the Bates hooks. I like a deep trough so I don't drop my yarn off the hook as much and it's much easier when working with multiple strands. So there you have it.

Some people also have a preference regarding other things such as plastic/aluminum/rosewood/bamboo, large round handles, soft handles (like the Clover SoftTouch), or just plain handles. It's just about personal preference.

I would recommend, however, that you get a few different hooks in the same size from different brands and try them all out with different textures of yarn. I used Boye for so long because that was the first set I bought and I didn't know any different. When I finally bought a Bates Silvalume hook and tried it, I found it soooo much more enjoyable to use and much easier (I didn't slip my yarn nearly as much and could easily insert into even the tightest stitches). Later on, I tried wood (hated it), bamboo (hated it), plastic (useful for some yarns), and soft touch (which has the same rounded and rough point as Boye, so didn't like that either). But definitely broaden your hook horizons. :plane:D