Tips for saving money

Hi,

I am new to this forum. I've been crocheting for several years but didn't start crocheting anything but basic baby and toddler blankets until this past fall, so really I am a newbie when it comes to crocheting.

My question is what tips can anyone offer on how to save money... for example, I recently came across a pattern that called for the inside round of a plastic coffee can for a purse bottom and another that called for a CD for a bottom. (I'm partial to purses!)

Because I don't have a lot extra money to spend on crocheting, I am looking for any ways I can stretch what money I can spend.

I already haunt thrift stores and love the treasures I find there!

Thanks!

Blue Ridge Mountain Girl

Well check your local freecycle and craiglist to find yarn. I posted a wanted ad on my freecycle and came away with a bunch of yarn. it was awesome. Try and find things that are stash busters. When looking at patterns see if you can make them with cheaper substitutions. For instance if one is calling for cotton see if a less expensive yarn would work just as well. Thrift stores are awesome for recycling yarn as well as other notions, like buttons and ribbon.

oh and free patterns are the best, there are no shortage of them.

Garage sales and yard sales are also places to find inexpensive yarn.

Goodwill stores sometimes have yarn too.

Hobby Lobby runs ads in the local papers on Sundays and they run some terrific sales. Also, always check the clearance bin. I have gotten some yarn for hardly any money that way.

Michael's and JoAnns do have some sales, and they run 40% off one item coupons. Those are in the Sunday papers also.

Also, try to crochet where you are seen. People will give you yarn if they know you crochet. I have received gifts of yarn from people my husband works with, just because they know I crochet.

Good luck.

:manyheart