Easter Rattles

Ok, this is my first attempt at letting others read my patterns. I hope that you understand how my mind works! This pattern has not been tested so if you run into issues please let me know.

pictureforwebbc.jpg

Carrot Rattle

Supplies

Lily Sugar n’ Creme Cotton Yarn (Hot Orange and Sage Green)

3.5mm Hook

yarn needle

scrap yarn for marking rows

small round cat toy that rattles

Polyfil

Notes

Making my adjustable ring

wrap the end of your yarn around your first two fingers two times, so that the end of the yarn is closest to the end of your fingers.

Slide the crochet hook under the first loop, grab the second loop with the hook and draw it through the first loop.

Chain one (this counts as your first sc for the round)

Sc Decrease

place hook in stitch, yo, draw loop through

place hook in next stitch, yo, draw loop through

yo, draw it through all three loops on the hook

Sc Increase

place 2sc in one stitch

I used a scrap piece of yarn to mark the end of the round and moved it with each row.

Carrot Body

Using Hot Orange, Make adjustable ring (see notes), make 5 sc into the ring , place marker in the last sc

Round 1 2 sc in each stitch around

Round 2 (sc, sc increase) around

Round 3 sc in each st around

Round 4 (2sc, sc increase) around

Round 5 sc in each stitch around

Round 6 (3sc, sc increase) around

Round 7-10 sc in each stitch around

Round 11 (3 sc, sc decrease) around, insert ball

Round12-13 sc in each st around

*start stuffing the carrot as you go through the rest of the rounds

Round 14 (2sc, sc decrease) around

Round 15-17 sc in each stitch around

Round 18 (sc, sc decrease) around

Round 19-21 sc in each st around

Round 22 sc decrease around, sew close

Carrot Leaves (2)

Using Sage Green, chain 22

Row 1 sc in 2nd chain from the hook, sc in next 19 st, 3 sc in last st, 19 sc on the backside of the chain, ch 1, turn.