Today's "free pattern of the day"

I don't care for it either.. but tastes vary. Someone will think it's the "cats meow". :D

You're right about that! Someone probably does like it and I guess that's what makes the world a wonderful place full of diversity

I'm relatively new to Crochetville, but in general, we may want to remember that the creators of various internet patterns (or via other media) may actually be members of this community, if not, at least be visitors. Let's embrace the diversity of the crochet world and the spirit of kindness that flows through this great forum.

:hug:hug:hug

As the original poster stated, I wouldn't wear this myself and wouldn't dare put this outfit on anyone's child! This is a poster child for what not to crochet...snobby knitters will love this!

I am sure that it may possibly look better in another color or perhaps in pieces. The top is cute and more than likely if the skirt was pulled up, it would look real cute.

Believe me, I have seen some things here that I do not like, but others do.

I try to think of how it would look apart and a different color. You will be surprised how it changes the outfit.

I admire anyone who designs, cause without them, I would have nothing to crochet.:hook

Well, the photo styling is not good---maybe it was in the 90s but it doesn't look right now. The colors are completely outdated now. The top is too big, the skirt is not straight, and the legwarmers are definitely a layer too much. "what not to crochet" would probably have something to say about the child's body being swallowed up by an alien life form disguised as crochet.

But like Mary Jo said, if the colors were different and all 3 pieces weren't layered, it could be fine. I've definitely seen knitted patterns that looked worse than this. :lol

There is potential in the outfit but it does need some work to let it come through.

I would get rid of the collar first thing as the sweater looks like it has 'good bones'.