Your ideal project tote

I'm trying to decide whether I want to make or buy a tote for carrying my projects around with me. I'm kind of wanting something small that I can carry around one ball of yarn, a hook, and scissors but I'm open to something bigger for traveling as well.

Since I'm still a relative crochet newbie I don't want to overlook some necessity only to find out after it's too late. So here's my question: If you have a tote what is it and what do you like/dislike about it? If you don't have one, what would you like to see in a tote?

What I use is a free tote bag that I got with a purchase from Estee Lauder.(love their lotion, and only buy it when its free gift time!). but I have seen small totes at Wal-Mart for less than $10. What I think would be great is a bae/tote with pockets. For the pattern, snips etc. I am thinking of doing one for a friend whoalso crochets, and if she likes it, I will do one for myself. Crochet of course!

Well, I have several things I use as totes...depends on how many projects I want to take with me...

I have several tote bags - some with outside pockets, some with inside pockets. (i have a tote bag/purse feddish) I find that the more pockets I have the more likely I am to not be as organized b/c I stuff things in there I don't really need, then "lose" them when I need them.

I also use the Longaberger med size boardwalk basket - its great for not so big projects and a couple skeins of yarn, my hook caddy, and a pattern book.