I don't know what to say!

As I have written in the past, I am allowed to crochet at work. I work at a hotel, I am a manager, and I work the 3pm to 11 pm shift. Most of the staff lives in apartments here at the hotel, so we have all become like a family over the years. Our housekeeping manager has a granddaughter that I have watched grow up from a gawky twelve year old to an 18 year old young woman who is raising her now-three-year-old sister so that her mother can "find herself". She is now a senior in high school, and when the hotel was under the previous owner when she started school in September, she started a work-study program where she would go to school for four hours and then come out here and work in the laundry for four hours a day. She worked for a month, and then the owner defaulted on his mortgage and the previous owner, who owns her own finance company and was holding the mortgage, took the place back and she cut the staff dramatically, this girl's job being one of the jobs that was cut. It was not a big deal, she lives at home, so it wasn't like she had no way to support herself, she was just working for pocket money anyway. But I had to tell you that to set y'all up for the rest of the story.