Pattern prices

I have just looked at some to buy patterns at ravelry. I see that the price scale is from cheap to quite expensive. And many of the expensive patterns aren´t that complicated (both knit and crochet).

Am I just being cheap, or is many of the patterns overprized?

I have no problem admitting that I'm cheap! I hate to pay for a pattern at ALL. I recently spent $5.99 for a pattern on epatterns, and for me, that was a luxurious splurge, throwing all caution to the wind. I'm a WILD WOMAN! :lol

Then again, I'm still learning alot about crochet, so I try to stick to easier stuff, for which I find free patterns everywhere. The one I bought is more challenging, so heaven only knows how long it will be before I work up the nerve to actually attempt it.

As far as things being overpriced, I really have no idea as to what is 'reasonable'. And I'm REALLY clueless about ravelry. I guess it all boils down to what price range you're comfortable in - and that varies for everyone.

What is considered expensive? I don't mind paying upwards of one to six dollars for a pattern. However, I will be very upset if I receive the pattern and it is written badly. I have a couple of patterns in my library that I've purchased online that I'm disappointed with.

I'm cheap (& a little poor these days). I don't usually buy individual patterns. Once in a while I will buy one that jumps out at me or make a perfect gift for someone I know but I have limits to what I will pay for one pattern. As much as I might love the project... & understand the work that goes into creating patterns is not easy... I have to pass up most of the patterns I really like. Sometimes I come back later, either hrs or days & if I still feel the love for it, I'll get it. I have only had a problem with one or two of them but one of those was a $7 pattern, EEK.