Your Favorite Yarn for Afghans

Good morning,

I just have to rant a little bit. Ha! I've been knitting and crocheting for over 30 years. Learned how to do both with Red Heart yarn, which I have loved until recently. I just finished a baby blanket; was told it would "soften up" after washing. Well, it didn't. It is very stiff and scratchy. I would not give this afghan to a baby! So I don't think I will be using Red Heart yarn anymore. Seems each time I have bought it, the quality has gone down. Anyway, my question.....for those of you who crochet lots of afghans, what is your favorite yarn to use for them? I need some ideas for yarn that is relatively inexpensive and soft. Thanks for your ideas.

I may have to order on-line because the stores to buy yarn in my area have a very limited selection.

Happy crocheting!

Sharon

Try washing your afghan one more time and use liquid fabric softener. This works pretty well for me and when I put in the liquid I let the blanket soak a bit in it before I rinse. Otherwise, when I make afghans I use Caron Simply Soft or Bernats Baby Coordinates. For bablies you can also use Baby Soft from Lion Brand or Pound of Love. I never use red heart unless I just can't find the color I need. Another thing about the redheart for me is just because it is so rough, it really hurts my hands as it rubs over them. They do make a red heart soft now. You would think that they could just make theirs soft and not have another one that is!! :lol

Simply soft, Bernat Satin and Red Heart Soft are all nice yarns. I also like I Love this Yarn from Hobby Lobby, although some people here have complained that it doesn't hold up well. My daughter has knitted several things from the Bernat baby yarns that ended up being pretty affordable and very nice.

I love Bernat, Patons, and Caron Simply Soft. They are all affordable and very soft with pretty colors. I've only used RH to make a caterpillar toy and I found that it was rough going over my fingers too.