How old ...

I am just learning to crochet and took an afghan I am working on to my nephew's little league game last week (I only watch when he is playing anyway so this was something to do with my time between him batting and pitching). My step-sis-in-law came up to me and loudly informed me (and everyone within a 50 foot radius) that crocheting was for grandmothers and old people. So I am just wondering, what is the big deal? Do any of y'all get derogatory remarks from people? Is it just my family that is rude about this?

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

No its not just your family. I have heard that many times especially from young people. It seems that there aren't so many of us "younger" ones crocheting in public, so many people think that only old people do it. Alot of people can't comprehend the tons of different objects and things you can make with crochet.

Don't feel bad - they would probably do it too if they knew how!

I never get that. If people make any comments at all, they are generally positive. However, I am over 50 and maybe people just expect me to do things like crochet.

Gee, I'm 53 and still consider myself "younger" than a crocheting old person:lol

I never get that. If people make any comments at all, they are generally positive. However, I am over 50 and maybe people just expect me to do things like crochet.

First of all, WHATEVER!:P

I am in my mid 30's and just learned to crochet a couple years ago. Old is an attitude, not an age. And obviously she hasn't heard about the comeback of yarn - lots of celebs doing it, the SnB book, shows like Knitty Gritty and Knit & Crochet Today - hello, us "hookers" are the new "in" crowd!LOL There is a "Craft Mafia" in just about every town.

I'm betting since she said it so loud, more & more people will start checking out what you are working on & maybe even catch the bug themselves! Come on' who can resist something cuddly & hand made?