help and feedback needed for a "newbie"!

I'm a "newbie" to the VILLE and a relatively new crocheter. I'm working on simple baby ghans and lapghans for someone (i have no clue, to whom). I'm just learning many of the stitches so I'm staying with simple patterns to begin with. My question is: what seems to be the "yarn of choice" for afghans? I hate those fuzzy and scratchy types. So far, I've just stuck with Red Heart (Wal Mart is the only crochet supplier in my area). Is that an OK choice? And also, I've noticed the "cotton ease" that I can order online. Any feedback on this type? I like the fact that it does have some cotton in it (I am a COTTON nut!) Does this type flow easily in your hands or not? I just need some feedback, before I purchase it.

thanks a bunch!!

also, if there is anyone out there that has some "extra" time on their hand (I know there's not many), who would be willing to sort of be a crochet "buddy" for me by giving me your email address or AIM screen name? I just need help so much and there does not seem to be anyone around here that crochets that I know.:think

Personally I don't like regular acrylic for afghans as it's too scratchy for me. I've made one afghan with Lion Homespun and it was very cozy and soft. I'd do it again if I was doing a pattern that was simple but I wouldn't do it with that yarn in a complex pattern (personally). I find the yarn splits a lot and is slippery but ..

Caron Simply Soft is also nice .. as is the Red Heart Soft.

I like the Red Heart TLC, but they don't sell it at Walmart.

You can, however, order it at joann.com and you get a discount when you order more than 8 skeins, so when they offer free shipping, it's a real bargain.

The TLC is a good, all purpose yarn. I'm making a sweater out of it and an afghan.

For baby blankets, I like Bernat Baby Coordinates. Very silky and works up quickly when you hold two strands together. And, apparently, durable, from the feedback I've gotten on it.