Learning to Knit...How did you learn to knit/crochet

I'm just learning to knit again after 20 years and am taking classes at a local yarn shop called "Lamb's Wool". I completed my 10 classes and just signed up for an entire year's worth of lessons. I can go knit or crochet every day at the shop, it's only about 2 1/2 blocks from where I work and I get an hour lunch so that leaves about 50 minutes worth of stitching. The year's worth of lessons runs $225.00. I didn't think that was too bad since 10 lessons cost $80.00. I know I will certainly get my money's worth. It's also a nice way to break of my days at work (I work at a police station, look at a lot of guys and always something not so nice happening). Going to the Lamb's Wool brightens my day and gives me something to look forward to during the middle of the day. My problem is not to buy any more yarn...... :think

I learned to crochet from a boss I had in the early 1980's. She tought be to make granny squares. I got bored with that and put it down. Then in 1989 I wanted to quit smoking and started to crochet again and quit smoking doing it. I've been smoke free ever since. :hook Crocheting will always be my foremost love between the two. :manyheart

I learned to crochet in the late 60s from my mom. My grandmother also crocheted and I learned from her as well. I've crocheted off and on since then.

I remember watching a knitting show on PBS in the early 70s and I started to learn to knit then, but never did anything with it. I finally learned to knit for real a couple of years ago, using the knitting section here, knittinghelp.com (love their videos, very clear and to the point, and short;)), and the book Knitting in Plain English by M Righetti.

Your noontime yarning break sounds great! I'm in a local stitching group that meets every week and it is so much fun!

Crochet: a friend taught me the granny square but after that I learned more about the stitches from a magazine I bought. This was the early 70s.