Is there anything you just can't seem to 'get right'?

I'm still fairly new to crochet, but I'm wondering if there's anything you 'pro' crocheters have run across that you just can't seem to get down pat, or have trouble with? I seem to have a real problem with socks and slippers...I've been trying a couple different patterns and so far, and have failed miserably! My mom, who I consider to be a pro, preaches that enough patience and practice can eventually get any crochet project done. Just wondering if she's right, or if I'm destined to be a failure at socks/slippers!

Gauge is one. Mostly because with blankets I don't worry too much about gauge, I make it as big as I want it. There was a pattern I tried once, it's a diamond look and several of the stitches are done almost like a post going down the preceeding rows. I couldn't do it because it was sc's and I had the hardest time finding the sc I was supposed to be stitching on/into.

I have a beautiful ripple pattern, I can't for the life of me figure it out. I have done several other ripples, but the one my little sister wanted for her wedding present I can't figure out!!:eek So far it is the only pattern I haven't figured out!! I am going to try it again this winter. Keep practicing it will get better!!:yes

The only thing that still defeats me is the bullion stitch. I have to pull the loops over one by one, just can't do the swooping motion to draw the yarn through them all at once.

Jean Leinhauser

Gauge a little. I crochet loose so it's hard for me to figure out what I'm doing until I'm a while into a project:P. So Side to side sweaters or vests I can't do (well one I did but messed up by adding another row and it worked out actually and fits:lol, but that was rare). I just tried again with the one on the cover of Crochet Today. Didn't work out, was waaaay long and too big.