Digital camera help

:eekI just bought a Fujifilm FinePix A900. It has 9 MPs & 4X zoom. I have never had a digital before. I want to, of course, put pics of my work on C'Ville. But I'd also like to design & sell some of my own patterns. For any of you knowledgable out there, is this camera going to be good enough for that? I'm also hoping that my DD can use it for some of her beadwork too because whenever she has to have her pieces photographed for a class it's big-time money.

I got totally freaked out today reading the manual about the different settings, but finally realized that there is also a simple "point & shoot" mode. Guess I'll probably start with that to figure out how the camera works. Unfortunately, most of my friends use regular cameras or throw-aways, so they are no help at all.

Any help to get me started would be greatly appreciated!!!

Hi there, firstly I am no photo expert but maybe can offer some advice. I suggest you play arround with it a bit in different settings and lighting till you get familiar with it. One trick though for photographing crochet is to use the macro setting. This usually has a flower symbol and you can get some high detail close ups of your work. I also find white and black the worst colours to photograph. All the best. I have a canon and it is the best gadget I own.

Oh and NEVER use the flash with crochet as the photos always look drained of colour. Natural light works best.

One trick though for photographing crochet is to use the macro setting. This usually has a flower symbol and you can get some high detail close ups of your work.

Macro takes practice though. You can't be too close or it'll be fuzzy. You can't be too far or something else will be in focus, not what you want and it still can be fuzzy. You can't shake so getting a tripod or setting it on something will help.

If your manual doesn't tell you where the macro setting is, mine didn't really, it's the little flower icon.