How do you store your yarn..containers, shelves, what?

This probably has been brought up before, but I have been decluttering my house for the last several months (oh the junk we keep!) and now I'm working on my crafts room. I have at least 8 trash bags full of yarn that I just do not know how to organize, i.e., on shelves, in baskets or what. My room is not that big, so how do you all store your yarn? I don't have room for bins on the floor, so that's out. Please, if you have suggestions I would greatly appreciate it!

I store mine on shelves. I had hubby take an extra bookcase we had, put it in the den by the fireplace and whaa-laa my storage problem was solved. Now everything is within view and looks so pretty. I grouped my colors together on one shelf, yarn for specific projects on another shelf and so on.....

This also helps me "control" my yarn addiction a little. If there is no room on the shelves I try not to buy till somethig is gone to make more room.

I use totes to store my yarn/thread as I don't like the idea of it being exposed to dust and what not. There are all sizes of totes you can use.

For the "most special" of my yarn and thread collection I use the clear totes. I went to the dollar store and bought several lidded clear file size boxes. It works wonderful.

I group my yarn together by type. The wweight in one tote, the cotton in another and thread in another. Special stuff in the small clear totes and my sock yarn also goes in the small clear totes.

Unfortunately, I will need to make another trip to the dollar store and the yarn/thread supply keeps growing. :lol Perhaps when you keep it all together it mates like little bunnies. :manyheart

Good luck with you decluttering. I so need to organize my stash but haven't wanted to take what little time I have away from my crocheting.

TLOL,

Toni