Hello There from Rochester, NY

Lanik

I'm so excited I finally joined Crochetville! :jumpyay:woo

I'm very new to crochet... lets say I only know how to do chains :ohdear. But I really really really want to learn. Do you think it would be possible that I can teach myself how to crochet? Where should I start? Any advice will be highly appreciated.

You can definitely teach yourself! A lot of us here are self taught! Maybe try making yourself a simple sc dishcloth next?

Welcome to Crochetville btw - I grew up in Syracuse!

Hi and welcome to Crochetville from my little corner of Northeast Ohio. :clap You'll love it here. :hug (I'm another self-taught crocheter.)

I'm self taught! You can probably find a lot of great internet resources to teach yourself, but if you're like me (a book lover as well as a yarn lover) you'll want to head to the bookstore immediately. I used Crochet Basics by Jan Eaton which sufficed (though I didn't like any of the projects), but I was looking through Knitting & Crochet for Dummies a few days ago and the illustrations seemed much more helpful in it. Then again, it's not colorful & it doesn't have any crochet projects whatsoever. I also remember using a crochet book for kids, though I can't remember what it's called at the moment. It simplified some things and I used a couple of the small projects to test my skills. Good luck & welcome to crochetville!

Hi and :welcometo Crochetville! Nice to have you here. :cheer I also taught myself to crochet. I think its easier now, you might not even need a book - just search the web:think . I've seen tutorials and lots of free quick and easy patterns for beginners back in 2001 when I began to have internet access.;)

hello and welcome!!! Where were you people when I was there in Rochester for 6 years!!! Guess we should ahve started crochetville earlier! Oh well beter late than never!!!

Hugs

Vims

PS where in Rochester are you? I used to live in Henrietta !!!