Painted doily CAL?- is anyone interested?

Start date August 19th

Someone posted a gorgeous painted doily in the show & tell section. There were a few posts mentioning they would like a CAL with painted doily as the theme. I hope I am not stepping on any toes here by asking if you'd like to join me in doing one? I would like ideas on which doily to choose, should we all do the same? I like this one http://www.angelfire.com/folk/celtwich/ShadedPink.html, I've never done it before, but it looks interesting. I will be using #40 embroidery thread along with #7 crochet hook. I have not chosen any colors yet for the thread.

Please join me!

Eileen

• Replies 205
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I would love to make a "Painted Doily" but I have told myself I can't start anything else until I get caught up on my WIP. And they are big ones, the RR in thread and the "Tea Rose" Table topper I am testing for Katchkan, plus another Travelghan and a Octagon Afghan I am making for the Chemo center.....so will have to wait....

I'll be happy to join! I've made one small painted doily (you can find it on my blog), but consider it more "experimental" than anything else. I learned a lot with that project that I plan to put to use in another one, and I'd love to join you.

My suggestion is to place a tentative date on starting--at least a month away--so participants can search for patterns, gather tips, choose and purchase thread, and so on. This isn't an ordinary project, and placing a "start date" a few weeks down the road will let everyone feel that they have some time to prepare for it.

I already know that my next project is going to be in beach-colored pastels, but I haven't selected a pattern.

Just want to say...when choosing a pattern...

PICK AN EASY ONE!