Doubled Wool with tartan inlay

Lawless

Hi everyone... this is my first attempt at showing a pattern, so be gentle with me... (this is also the second attempt at this thread ! GRRRR ! I lost the first one!..)

I would like to show you a recently completed blanket of mine...

new-blanket0606.jpg

this is the blanket - before the edging is applied - note the tied off pieces of wool at the bottom of the blanket. .. I'll explain this for you soon.

Materials:

8 PLY wool / yarn

- Royal Blue

- Mouldy / frosty greeny-bluey colour...

these two are crocheted together to form the majority of the base of the blanket above..

Contrasts:

Orange and Red Wool - crocheted together

Gold and Lemon Wool - crocheted together

Pale aqua & strong Aqua wool - crocheted together

Green and Mint Green wool - crocheted together

These form the contrast strips you see in the blanket

Hook: 5.5

The Pattern:

Do a row of chain - in the case above - 141 chain - which was enough to encompas the pattern of 5 treble, 1 chain (forming a gap in the pattern) 10 treble, 1 chain and so on... so - in total 141 chain.. you can adapt the pattern depending on the numbers of woven contrasts you require, and the numbers of treble between each weave.

row 1.. Do 141 chain

row 2.. do 2 chain , turn your work, do a treble into the 3rd chain from your hook, and a further 3 treble into the next three chain. ### Do 1 chain, miss 1 chain in Row 1, and place 10 treble into the next 10 chain respectively. Do 1 chain, miss the next chain in row 1, and do 5 treble into the next 5 chain in the first row. Repeat from ### to the end of the row

Row 3. do 2 chain - turn your work, place a treble into the last treble of row 2. Do a further 3 treble, and then 1 chain. Do trebles into the tops of every treble in row 2, and do chains where you see the 1 x chain gap appear. Remember to put your last treble in each row into the top of the 2nd chain from where you turned your work to begin your previous row...