Acrylic yarn - why the bad rap?

Je-Rel Drood

I don't know any other crocheters in my area, but the few knitters that I knew had this thing against acrylic yarn. It didn't matter what the weight, but they felt that it was an inferior quality of yarn and wouldn't touch it.

I don't have a lot of money to spend on yarn, and I like what I've used so far. I'm new to the whole fiber arts scene beyond my local Michael's, is there a problem with yarn or were they just being fiber snobs?

IMHO, there are a lot of yarn snobs among knitters and I've known som. On the other hand, acrylic yarn is made from petroleum, wich is a non renewable resource. That said, I prefer synthetic yarn because it's easy to care for and requires no blocking. Plus, crocheting for me is more about the process and the textures created by the stitches than than the materials used. And, because I make so many afghans, I use a lot of yarn, and synthetic is cheaper.

There's a big difference between knitters and crocheters. Jean Lienhauser did a wonderful article on it but I have no idea where the bookmark went on it.

Anyways - to paraphrase - in general - knitters make more wearables, crocheters make more things like afghans and toys.

The truth of the matter is - it doesn't matter what other people think. If you're happy with it and working with it - that's all that counts.

Me personally - I LOVE soft acrylic yarn. You should see my stash of Caron Pounders. They wash up wonderfully, wear great and last. I mean - how much better does it get for one of the cheaper yarns?!?

I think Red Heart Super Saver is AWESOME for kids blankets. The colors are vibrant and it wears like iron. It holds up to the abuse and the washing.

Do you want to make a lacy pull-over sweater out of it? Probably not.

It's really easy for a handmade sweater to cost $200 plus depending on the specialty yarn that you use. Are you going to make a bunch and give them away? I doubt it.