carpal tunnel?

Does anyone here suffer from carpal tunnel syndrome?

I'm fairly new to crocheting in the sense that I haven't done it for years! I learned when I was in my teens. Crocheted until I was in my twenties, then life kinda took over, I did alot of other things, had kids, etc...I stopped crocheting. Picked it up in the 80s again, and started a couple projects that I did not finish.

Now, here it is 2008, I have dug out all my books, patterns, yarn and unfinished projects. I started to finish everything from long ago....

mostly because of CROCHETVILLE, I have really gotten interested once again. This forum has so much great info, so many nice people...its so much fun and a pleasure to read, that I am pumped and excited to belong to this community!!

ok, so here I am almost 50 years old now....suddenly when crocheting, my middle finger goes completely numb, the tingling becomes pain, and I have to stop because I can't feel my hand anymore..

I shake it off and rest, but it comes back when I start to crochet again. So I looked it up online...and found that I fit the profile of carpal tunnel on that hand. great. now what?

If you suffer from this, does it effect your crocheting? do you take the anti-inflammatories? (when I take one, the tingling goes away) Im afraid to take them every day...not good for the body, right?

Any self help or clues to help me get thru a day so that I can do what I love alot?? crochet!!:hook:manyheart

Yankeeblue, I'm sorry you're having trouble, but you're far from alone.

I had to quit crochet and knitting for several weeks this past summer due to carpal tunnel. Now I can do either again as long as I am careful not to do too much at once. Sometimes I still overdo and when that happens I try to take the next day totally off — no handwork of any kind — to give my hands a chance to rest before I get back into the bad shape I was in.