Favourite hook for afghan and accessories?

mom2boys

favourite hook  

55 members have voted

1. 1. favourite hook

• Boyes
    • Susan Bates
    • Soft Touch
    • others

Just curious, what's your absoulte favourite hooks? I have a set of Boyes hooks up to size K and Afghan hook I, that comes with my 'I Taught Myself to Crochet' book. After reading about Susan Bates' Silvalume hooks, I'm thinking of trying the bigger hooks. I just found my lost hook sets, they were under my bed of all places!:( So far, when I was missing my hooks, I got myself 2 Soft Touch hooks, I love them and I bought the crochet lite hook, but has yet to try it!

So, Please tell me what's your absolute favourite hooks for both afghan and regular scarves and hats ? I'm not into clothes yet since I'm still relatively new to crochet!:)

Thank you very much for all your replies and suggestions !:)

My first set of hooks were Aero hooks, and they're nice enough, but they could use a larger grip in the middle. I switched to Boyes hooks because I liked that they had a better grip so my hand cramped up less. Now I've found that I crochet better with in-line hooks like Crystalites, or my ergonomic hook set that has the interchangable heads.

Ooooh, ergonomic hooks! I'll have to check those out!

I usually use the Boye hooks I get at WalMart because they're the least expensive, and they get the job done.

A rosewood hook in size K was recently purchased for me but I haven't tried it out yet. Can't wait!

I voted others...but only because I am finding I have various preferences, heh. If the hooks are large, K and bigger, I prefer the Bates type head, in plastic. Except for my Balene II hooks, those seem ok even with a Boye type head. I think the Balene are actually a bit flexible, so they don't give me fits.

Medium size can be either Bates or Boye, but if I ever get an entire set of bamboo-handled Bates, I'll be a very happy girl. Preferrably metal, for these sizes.