Patterns in magazines

Hi all,

I'm still new to the craft, and have subscribed to a crochet magazine. I love getting it and seeing all the beautiful things that can be made. But ... I'd like to see a little more "how-to" content (particularly for wearables).

Instead just the straight pattern and a picture of the finished object, how about some in-process shots, so you know what it's supposed to look like at certain steps of the process, more charts for pattern pieces, and more description of how to get there.

I can read a pattern and understand what it's telling me to do, but sometimes I don't quite understand how steps A and B produce project C.

How do other feel about this?

Personally, I avoid "how-to" publications, because I figure if I don't understand how to do something, I"ll look it up for free online. EVERYTHING is online. I want "just the pattern, Ma'am" unless it's something VERY specific to that particular pattern.

Same here. I look in mags & books for just straight up patterns. I want more pattern and less filler. :hook If I was seeking good how-to info, though, there are many good books that have it. A lot of them detail the stitches that they use in the patterns in their book.

I am not a new crocheter (started over 30 years ago but stopped for a while) and I agree with you Ambsax. Sometimes I can read a written pattern over and over and not understand how it fits together. Nice clear pictures of the finished product can be a real help but are often lacking, I think. If I can't clearly visualize the finished item, I won't be interested in it. And charts are great! Also like to see a schematic of the shape and dimensions of the pieces. How-tos for different stitches and techniques are great, too, even if not related to a specific pattern.

I like to look up things online and there is some really good stuff out there, but there are things that I can only find in print.