My 1st experience with the LYS

Shellybrook

So today, with B'day money in hand...I head to a LYS after doing some research as to LYS's in the area. I walk into a brick building on a side street off of "main st" in this little town. Clearly the building was once a repair shop. When you walk in it was a large open room with lots of windows a coffee pot on the right with a few couches and end tables set up straight ahead. There was YARN GLORIOUS YARN in crates around every wall. It was everything I imagined.

After being on crochetville for a while I knew that I was NOT going to get "Red Heart" on sale....but rather going to buy hanks of natural fibers. I also prepared myself to be greeted by a knitter who might not like me simply because I crochet. (sorry ladies but you gave me the impression that most die hard knitters can be "snobbish") So...I walk in and introduced myself to the owner and tell her that I'm a newbie crocheter and I wanted to try my hand at something other than what you get at "Michaels"...She promptly pointed me to the "sale" baskets. (I thought Hmmm...perhaps this is an indication of her assumption that crocheters only work with "cheap" yarn.) I could have been right, I'll never know. I ended up buying more from the sale bin than the others but more so because it looked easier to work with a crochet hook, and I was afraid to spend $25 per hank on angora that looked like a serious hassle with a crochet hook. So about an hour after walking around petting everything in the shop she came to me and asked how I was doing and brought me a basket, since my arms were full. I apologized for petting everything in the store and she said ..."Thats what your supposed to do!"...so we have something in common with knitters.