Who was Susan Bates?

Gran

I'm bored and waiting for dh to get home, so I googled her. The history of Coats and Clark comes up and doesn't tell anything about her. Another link led me to an article in the 'Home Economist' , September l928 written by Susan L. Bates, Consumer Consultant, New Uses Section, The Cotton Textiles Institute, Inc.

When I googled The CT Institute, I couldn't get a history, just stuff on law suits and strikes - maybe they were the reason people sang, "Look for the union label'? LOL

Interesting, I'm hooked now! On to 'Aunt Lydia' - what did she do beside rugs?

I hardly ever laugh out loud. Thanks. Maybe that's why there are no shower curtains in her line of products.

well, she did have a line of shower curtains, but had to recall them..... something about them leaking?

Update: I phoned Coats and Clarks with questions on these "historic personalities" and am waiting for the company historian to return my call.

I'm a newbie but have been reading this forum. Just happened to pick up an old package of Susan Bates yarn needles last night and noticed this at the bottom of the card:

C.J.Bates & Son

Chester, Conn.

A quick google search and I found:

History

Founded by Carlton J. Bates (1848-1941) in 1907, the C.J. Bates Company manufactured manicure sets, crochet hooks, and knitting needles in Chester, Connecticut.

I know this is not near as funny as everyone else's post, but thought you might it interesting. Thanks for reading!

that was nice of you to find the answer for us. i want to :welcome :welcome you to crochetville and am glad i saw this post as i was wondering also. now i wonder who was boye:lol :lol they are my favorite metal hooks but am fast getting "hooked" onto the wood ones. i am finding them much easier to work with and not as stressful on my wrists. again :welcome :welcome , come to chat now and then and see if anyone is there . would love to chat with you redhead deb:hug :hug