Overwhelmed by my yarn stash....need ideas

MyGirlFriday

I have been crocheting on and off for about 11 years....and I have been "stashing" yarn for just as long.

I have about 20 extra large totes of yarn.....from cottons, to thread, to yarn you name it..... I have it in those tubs. My hubby took all my yarn tubs over to my dads house where there is lots of extra room. When I want yarn I go and "shop".

Today I went and did some "shopping" and I was very overwhelmed by all of the yarn that I have collected over the years. I just can't believe that I have all of the yarn that I do. I need to find a few projects that will take alot of yarn to do. I would really like to destash and use up some of when I have.

I need to find a couple of projects that would use up alot of yarn. I have been thinking about a couple of large afghans/bedspreads in multi colors.......maybe a colorful jacket.......but I really need some ideas.

I could use some serious help here.

Anyone have some ideas as to what I can hook up that would use alot of yarn, be functional and beautiful???

mgf~:yay

You could also start crocheting squares with the leftovers. Eventually, you'll have enough for an afghan or shawl. :c9

Of course, I'm the one who could take my own advice! I have THREE under-the-bed containers and several totes FILLED with yarn!!! :lol

2 strand ghans. I LOVE doing round ripples with 2 strands so that I can shade them, a flannelghan (it's heavy), a 2 strand solid color ripple (there's a pattern for it here - I think it's called Easy Ripple)

Then you also have the 'Wool Eater' ghan - that's supposed to use a lot of yarn too.

I would go thru the totes and pick out the yarn that you're really never going to use, don't like the feel of or colors that are icky to you now. You can always put it up on craiglsist, donate or sell right here at the ville.