Filets

Does anyone out there do filets? I have never actually tried this but have a pattern that calls for 38 squares by 44 rows. I'm thinking that it can't be that difficult to do and the size seems small but I'm wondering if this is more complicated then I'm aware. Also, I assume you use crochet thread. What kind and size would you recommend as well as the hook size? I think I'll start this project after the holidays but would love any input.

I've done fillet in worsted weight yarn to make a shawl (if you're too timid like me to try thread first). It was easy to pick up. You've just got to pay attention and 'fill in' the right squares with DC and chain across the open ones.

I started learning filet this weekend with a book I got through eBay. It's very simple to do once you get the hang of handling thread and a small hook. I'm using a size 10 thread and a size 7 hook and like the results very much.

Hi I want to learn filet crochet also and I have been asking around where I can get a book to learn it. Can you tell me the name of your filet crochet book. Thanks and Hugs :hug

Hi I want to learn filet crochet also and I have been asking around where I can get a book to learn it. Can you tell me the name of your filet crochet book. Thanks and Hugs :hug

Hi, sure!! My filet crochet book is called 'The Filet Crochet Book' by Chris Rankin. I got it on eBay....alibris.com also sells used books and so does Amazon.

I had searched through some old threads here at the ville and noticed that several people recommended the book. It's easy to understand. The only gripe I have about the book is that she doesn't recommend a thread and hook size for each project, but tells you to do test pieces with several sizes of thread. This seems like a huge waste of time to me. Anyway, I just picked a project and chose size 10 thread and a size 7 hook....that's what most people here said is a good beginner's combination.

Have fun!!!