Question

Hey,

I'm a college student and I don't have much money and I love to crochet... So, my question is, does anyone know where I can get some free yarn? Thanks for any replies in advance!

freecycle. I believe it's a yahoo group. And with situations like yours someone in your area may be willing to give it away free.

If you want, choose projects that take a long time. When I have almost no money, I did doilies. They took forever and it was $2 for a ball of yarn and I could do a doily or two. And they made great gifts and for $2 out of my pocket wasn't bad at all, but with the time involved and skill it was worth way more then $2.

Also check out your dollar stores. Check Every Dollar Store For Yarn they have some yarn.

And don't forget yard sales. My aunt found me some there before. And like said above, second hand stores.

Coupons. Check your paper for coupons. A lot talk of Joanns (not one near me and no ads because of that) or Micheals. And check those sales too.

Debbi

freecycle. I believe it's a yahoo group. And with situations like yours someone in your area may be willing to give it away free.

Coupons. Check your paper for coupons. A lot talk of Joanns (not one near me and no ads because of that) or Micheals. And check those sales too.

Debbi

Freecycle is a great source, and yes, it is a yahoo group. You can sign up for your area and people will post what they're giving away. Keep an eye out for yarn and respond quickly.

I don't have a Joanns near me either, but you can shop their online store at www.joann.com and they always have a sale going and coupons for extra savings or free shipping. And I believe you get free shipping on your first order as well.

Welcome to the addiction! :hook

Again, cheap but not free. If there's an AC Moore near you, they usually have a bin full of one pound packages of mill end acrylic yarns. These seem to be mostly sport weight and reasonably soft, but the color selection is very limited.