Where to begin?

Falene

I was wondering what supplies a beginner would need to start practicing the art of thread crocheting? I was also wondering what type of pattern would be the best to start off with? I had read that perhaps a snowflake would be a good start.

I am a true beginner. I have not crocheted in over 25 years and am almost sure I remember nothing other than how to hold the hook. My budget is also very tight.

Is it practical to start off with thread crocheting or should I start with yarn first?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you,

Fal :bee

I find I use mostly 2 hooks, the G for yarn and the 7 for thread.

Yarn I would think is better for a beginner, or someone who is getting back after a long absence, casue it is easier to handle than thread.

I would try something simple, like a dish cloth or a pot holder.

If you go thread, yes there are some snowflakes that are quite simple.

Here is the best place to look for patterns.

http://www.crochetpatterncentral.com/index.php

Good luck in getting back. Oh yeah, you can change any pattern from yarn to thread very easy.:hook

I see no problem with starting with thread crochet, although I do suggest you choose size 10 or bedspread-weight thread, not the thinner threads.

SOME snowflake patterns might be okay to start on, but some are full of fussy picots and things that could frustrate a beginner.

My suggestion would be bookmarks for a first project. You'll find loads of patterns here:

http://www.crochetpatterncentral.com/directory/bookmarks.php

If you're looking for doily patterns, projects that have 10-15 rounds are fairly quick to crochet and might be a good beginning project as well, depending on the stitches used. You can buy a ball of thread and a crochet hook for around $5, so it won't cost too much to get started, and one ball of thread will go a long way while you are making smaller projects.