Best Yarn/Crochet hook for teaching kids?

Emily Bernstein

Question

Hello all! Looking for some help! I'm a teacher, and I may start teaching an afterschool class at my school with crochet. It would be potentially 2nd grade-middles school ages. I'm pretty comfortable with how to teach and in what order (thinking I'm going to start with chains and see how it goes).  What I'm really looking for is specific recommendations for yarn and hook size. The kids will be picking the yarn up before class, so I'm looking for a yarn that is readily available at a chain store like JoAnn Fabrics or A.C. Moore. Doesn't have to be the absolute cheapest available, but not expensive, available in a variety of colors (I'll tell them to pick a light color). It also can't be wool (allergies). Any ideas?

If anyone has other recommendations about a specific pattern (probably going to start with chain, go to single crochet and make a simple scarf) or ideas for teaching them how to position hands correctly, I'd certainly love to hear that as well! Thanks so much!

8 answers to this question

How wonderful for you to take this on!  I'm sorry I have no clue on what a "good" hook size for children learning would be but wanted to tell you what a great idea you have in doing this!  Oh and I love the kitty on your shoulder too!  :)

My one recommendation is to try an H or I hook to start the chains.  People often start the chains quite tight and getting into those chains can be hard.  A larger hook creates the larger chain without having to worry about making the chain larger.

I've never had an issue with acrylic, you just want one that doesn't split too easily.  While I like the softer yarns for my hands, the downside is they split more easily which can be tough for a beginner.

I agree with Bailey4, my first hook was an I size, which worked nicely with Red Heart Super Saver or equivalent.