*Second attempt..SUCCSESS* my first FAILED attempt at dish/wash cloth

JNsweetheart

Well, this was my first attempt at crocheting. I just kinda guessed my way through it. No pattern or anything. and i didn't count anything. figured it would be simple enough. Well i started out fine. was talking to my mom about it and she told me to do few rows double crochet because single would take forever but to end with same amount of single. well, needless to say i should have just stuck it out with doing all singles. but here is the picture of my pathedic dish/wash cloth

IMG_20111204_181449.jpg

Alright so I just had to try again. This time i used two things of yarn to get used to it and to make it thicker... Well, i did it! :) yay here it is! Orange&lime green

IMG_20111205_123516.jpg

Don't look at it as a failed attempt - look at it as a learning experience. I've been crocheting for 30+ years and still make mistakes. The trick is to learn from them and move on. Hang in there, it'll get better as you gain more experience.

Congratulations on sticking it out and finishing your 1st project! It's great that you jumped in with determination. :yes I noticed you said you were not counting. Counting is very important in crocheting. Whether in single or double crochet, the sides of your dishcloth would definitely have been more even if you were counted each stitch a row and making sure each row had the same number of stitches.

And similar to krodrig99, I've been crocheting 20+ years and I still make mistakes, too. It happens. ;)

I think you should give it a whirl again, only this time count your stitches so each row is even. You are on the right track! Keep it up! :manyheart

I love it! I think it's got a lot of character- especially for a first project. And your stitches look well-formed. Good for you for going off the beaten path with no pattern!

So - call it a trapezoid instead of a rectangle ;)