Am I being reasonable?

Hi everybody, I just have a quick question. For the past few years I have sold a few knit and crochet items at my family's christmas tree farm the month or so before the holidays in order to just make a bit of pocket change. This year I am making a few infinity scarfs (knitted) that are made of 100% wool. I was wondering if $10 was a reasonable price to charge or if I should charge less or more. I'm just a highschool student, so I don't want to charge so much that they won't sell. Thanks in advance for your advise! :yarn

ps. Are there any other items that I could make that you think would sell well?

$10 sounds really low to me, but it all depends on how much the yarn cost you, how much your time is worth x how long they take to make.

for other ideas, what about ornaments or other kinds of Christmas decor? Ornaments are small so don't use much material or time to make, and people will be thinking about decorating the tree they just bought:)

I also think $10 is too low. A good rule of thumb is take the price of your materials & either double or triple the price of the item you are wanting to make to sell. But, you also have to keep in mind how much time you spend. You will never recoup all of your time but you don't want to cheat yourself either. So, if you spend $5/skein of yarn/scarf and it takes you about 1.5 - 2 hours to make one, then $15 -$20 would be a good price.

I agree with all the above. you will find some who will say "that's to much" but they are the one's who don't apreciate the fact it was hand made and not mass produced in a factory. Put tags on them saying "handmade by_______ with ______ material" ect

15-20 is a fair price esp if you are using a more expensive yarn.

Thanks everybody for your help. I think I will try tagging them $15 to start. The yarn was given to me (Paton's classic wool), so I'm not worried about yarn cost unless I buy more. Thanks again!