Thrift-glass Bird Bath

jeannej

I thought I'd share something I created between crochet projects: My thrift-glass birdbath. It measures 25" tall and consists of 10 pieces of various vases, plates, and such that can easily be found at Goodwill and local thrift shops, or perhaps even within your own cupboards. It's my first attempt in this medium and I am surprisingly pleased with how it turned out. It was a fun project and I'm already keeping my eye out for pieces to create another for my SIL. It's presently perched on a stool in my backroom as it still has a few more days of curing before I'll place it out in my garden. Here's hoping that it's bird-worthy! Thank you for looking. :)

post-29383-135897544002_thumb.jpg

Edited to add: Caught sight of one of my beloved chickadees perched on its rim, second day out; he hung around for quite some time, quenching his thirst -Yay!! It's birdworthy! (I'm sure he'll tell all of his dee-friends, who'll tell the goldfinches, who'll surely bump into the robins...)= : D

post-29383-135897543967_thumb.jpg

It's beautiful and much more then bird worthy! what kind of glue do you use to put such things together?

Thank you, Peggy! It really was a fun project. The adhesive that I used and that has been highly recommended for adhering these glass on glass totems is GE Silicone II, Clear. I was told to be sure that it was the one for window and door, not the one for kitchen and bath.

Gorgeous!!:manyheart I love it. Very inspiring. I want one now :D

(My ornithologist hubby tells me that baths are most popular when the birds can see the water in them (usually b/c of a difference in shading or coloring of the basin) I don;t know how that would work with glass...some birds will come anyway I am sure) I want a glass birdbath, either way. :) (eta:Sadly, we don't actually have any kind of birdbath right now. feeders, yes...)

Thank you very much! This was so easy to make; do give it a go for your own gardens.