Some suggestions please?

A friend of mine is having a baby boy. She asked me if i could crochet her a blanket. I'm fairly new to crochet. By that I mean that i'm not too advanced but I want to make her something nice. Does anyone know any simple patterns that are still gorgeous for a new mom and her baby boy? It would mean alot.

Oh, what fun! There are tons of patterns out there, and I'll bet that once you started, you'd find that there are many that your skilled enough already to tackle. Usually reading the pattern makes it seem difficult, but it's really not

Since it's for a boy, I wouldn't chose anything lacy. My favorite patterns that work up quick are:

a simple woven stitch pattern. That means after chaining as long as you want the blanket, you turn, single crochet in the second stitch from the hook, chain one, skip one stitch, than sc in the next stitch, ch 1, skip 1 stitch, repeat. In the next row, you're chaining 1 over the previous stitch and putting your single crochet in the chain 1 space. I love this pattern.

a V-stitch blanket in boy colors, or sports or college colors. These work up very fast for bigger blankets.

Or just a simple double crochet blanket, with a single crochet border, perhaps in a contrasting color. Sometimes the simplest stitches have the best impact.

Enjoy! Patty

When I was expecting my son last year, I made him one of RoseRed's flannelghans in yellow and green holding two strands of baby yarn. It's just strips of DC but has some pattern to it. Very simple but very nice. (You can find the pattern in the CAL section...)

i agree with the baby bubbles pattern. i was going to post the link too :)

but i would not recommend putting ribbon on it. they don't wash well, and they pull away making a very serious choking/strangling hazard.

i just made this blanket for a cousin and it turned out really nicely. i didn't use 2 strands though, just one. Buy a one pounder of yarn and you'll have enough for a nice sized blanket.