Bernat soft boucle

rascalsmom

I have never used "boucle" yarn before, but I have used Homespun. I didn't have any particular problem with the Homespun but I know some people really dislike it.

I bought this Bernat "soft boucle" to make a sweater for my dog, and I am just not sure about it. It seems rather difficult to work with, and it's so hard to see where you're going!!

Anyone have any thoughts on this yarn? I don't know if I want to continue, or forget it and get something easier to work with....:think

I bought a skein of the baby boucle...and I agree! It's difficult to work with, and I could hardly see where I was going! Now I have an almost full large skein of baby boucle and no use for it. (only made a baby hat)

I've found with this particular yarn that it knits up well enough due to the individualized stitches (but yes, knitting is hard to frog out too!). For crocheting, I used an open type stitch like a v-stitch so that other than the first row you can just crochet into the big spaces.

I might suggest combining it with a strand of regular yarn to try to get a bit of both worlds. The regular yarn would make it so you could see your stitches, but you'd still get some of that extra textural oomph from the boucle.

I've found there can be huge differences in this yarn color to color or even batch to batch.

I made a sweater for my mother last year using Westport Shades and it was wonderful - easy to work, thick and soft. The sweater was gorgeous.

I bought some of the Richest Red to make a sweater for myself, couldn't find enough yarn locally and ordered some from Herrshners. It wasn't nearly as soft, thick or easy to work with as the Westport and the yarn I got from Herrshners was even worse - far thinner and scratchier than what I bought locally.

I tried again with Blue Shades and while it was better than the Red Shades and far better than the Herrshners yarn, it still wasn't as nice or as easy to work with as the Westport.