how can I keep edges of work straight?

fcwrigs

Question

I am a self taught crocheter and new to this message board. I can keep edges straight on small pieces, but when I attempt a large piece, like an afghan, the edges begin to flare out. I am picking up extra stitches, but I don't know how or why. Most posts I've seen on this board say their work gets smaller, but my width consistently gets larger as the rows go by. I am starting an afghan again--how can I keep the edges straight? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

14 answers to this question

Hi there and welcome!

Well, I think what you are probably doing is when you start a new row - you are most likely putting your first stitch in same stitch just under your turning chain. You need to go into the next stitch! Your turning ch is your first stitch of a new row. :)

:cheerIt will depend entirely what stitch you are doing your afghan.

It is very important to make sure you start and finish in the correct place on each row and each different stitch has a different place to do this.

:hookLet me know what stitch you are using and I will see if I can describe to you exactly what you need to do.

I have some very easy ideas for afghans with the instructions written in a simple form so they are easier to understand.

So far most people have been able to use them with no problems.

I have a Simple Round Ripple, a Simple Ripple (which is worked side to side) and a Shell Pattern which is extra easy because it is only one row repeated over and over, after you do the foundation row.

PM me if you need any of these patterns.

You can also do a large Granny Square which is worked in "Rounds" until it is the size you want.

Hope this helps.

Have fun.

Colleen:hug

Hi there and welcome!