Woolless Sheep

I just saw an article in today's newspaper about how there are so few sheep shearers anymore and that more woolless sheep are being kept instead.

http://ap.google.com/article/ALeqM5h368qH-Ff7r4wUwc7ADUm1A3UegwD8TPP6DG0

That might explain any increase in wool prices for knitting or other products. By googling for more information I visited this site and they have a photo of them. Maybe some of our members know whether the hair from these other sheep is being used for knitting yarn. The article doesn't say.

http://www.sheepandgoat.com/articles/hairsheepprodmktg.html

Beverly

I am so glad I have been supporting my local Alpaca ranchers who sell spun yarn. I had been feeling guilty about not finding local sheep ranchers to buy finished yarn from, but if these articles are signs of the times, I will be working more and more with Alpaca.

oh the HORROR! I'm just getting into working with wool and would hate to have it be even more expensive.

I suggested to hubby that we move to a farm, raise WOOL sheep and that he learn how to sheer them. Unfortunately, he thought I was joking. :eek:no

I met a lady recently who said she raises hair sheep, and spins the hair. She said that it was actually wonderful to work with and that the meat tastes a lot better because there is no lanolin. Now I am determined to get my hands on some of that yarn.

Hmm, learn something new every day. I don't think I could work with wool, though. I know I can't wear it. Causes me to itch something fierce. Same with Alpaca...I'd be too afraid it would break me out to try it.

Heather

Hmm, learn something new every day. I don't think I could work with wool, though. I know I can't wear it. Causes me to itch something fierce. Same with Alpaca...I'd be too afraid it would break me out to try it.

Heather

Have you tried Merino wool? It's much softer than other types of wool. And people that I know who are sensitive to wool have no problem with the Merino.