Storing my stash

What is the best method for storing my stash? I have limited space in my apartment. There is plenty of room in the garage, but I'm guessing thats not a good idea? :think

Since I am pretty new to the craft, its still a pretty small collection, but a tote, or some other solution is required. If a tote is used, will the yarn pick up a plastic-y smell? Could I put a few cedar blocks in it to counteract that?

My closet space is pretty limited too...

Any ideas are greatly appreciated!

I keep yarn in the garage in a tote (only I know it is in there) :rofl

I usually put it in a plastic zipper bag then inside the tote. I never noticed any plasticky

smells but then I wash it once the project is done.

well i live in a small apt with my hubby and although i do have an entire spare room closet to store both my yarn and shoes (both moderately large collections) it now only holds about 80% of my stash and i have come up with a few little ideas for the rest like, empty throw pillow covers stuffed with yarn instead of a pillow insert, small foot ottoman that has a cubby inside instead of hollow, dead spaces in other storage closets etc.

Doesn't everybody have yarn pillows:D?

Most of my stash is in plastic totes out on the back porch. I keep finding little odd balls scattered around the house, probably because of the four-legged transporters (herd of cats.) Most of my stuff is acrylic, so it isn't much affected by heat and cold, and I do wash it before it leaves.

Doesn't everybody have yarn pillows:D?

Most of my stash is in plastic totes out on the back porch. I keep finding little odd balls scattered around the house, probably because of the four-legged transporters (herd of cats.) Most of my stuff is acrylic, so it isn't much affected by heat and cold, and I do wash it before it leaves.